GLAMOUR South Africa|April 2020

Colours are vibrations of energy with p g p p how to channel them correctly to improve your life and mind.

Colour therapy, also known as chromotherapy, is a noninvasive, alternative healing practice based on the idea that each of the spectrum colours of the rainbow – red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet – contain unique energy and healing properties, according to their varying wavelengths of light.

Essentially, every colour has a fixed wavelength, frequency and amount of energy by which it can be characterised. In turn, all atoms, organs and cells in our body exist as energy, with their own frequency and vibrations. When parts of the body deviate from these energy levels, it’s said that our physical body doesn’t function at its best, which jeopardises our mental and emotional wellbeing. Colour can be used to rebalance this energy.

These energies, along with their complementary colours, resonate with the seven chakras (also known as energy centres) of the body, believed to promote mental health and wellness.

Thus, when implementing colour therapy, it’s essential to know about the healing properties of colours and how they align with the significance of each chakra.

The chakras

1 The root

The root chakra is red and is located at the base of the spine. Its function is that of grounding, physical survival and stability. When the root chakra’s blocked, it manifests as anxiety and jitteriness. You might experience frequent daydreaming, trouble concentrating or a spaced-out feeling. In colour therapy, red is the colour of life force and our connection to the earth. It penetrates deep into the aura and physical body, providing a solid, grounding energy.

2 The sacral


You can read up to 3 premium stories before you subscribe to Magzter GOLD

Log in, if you are already a subscriber


Get unlimited access to thousands of curated premium stories and 5,000+ magazines


April 2020