It's Only My Opinion
Soap Opera Digest|November 16, 2020
Daytime’s most outspoken columnist!
Carolyn Hinsey

There’s an art to having a good character do bad things and still have people root for them.

Soap rapists are the lowest of the low, but Tripp’s fervent denials that he didn’t force himself on a drunken Allie on DAYS had us thinking, “Hmmm.”

Tripp (to Patch and Kayla): “I’ve told you the truth over and over again!”

The story started slow because it happened offscreen to a character we didn’t know who was so blind drunk at the time she had little memory of the event. But things picked up when the scheming started to get a DNA test. Patch stole Tripp’s toothbrush, Kayla got Allie to cough up a piece of the baby, and it was off to the lab. Could Tripp be innocent? We were sure hoping he was.

Elsewhere, baddies Orpheus, Rolf and Clyde came back, and there’s not one redeeming quality between them. It’s all guns, kidnapping and darkness — talk about overkill.

Orpheus (hissing to Marlena): “You can have some alone time with me ... your worst nightmare.”

Pass.

Y&R’s Devon and Elena were cruising on the love train until she broke his heart by cheating on him with Nate.

Elena (sobbing): “I don’t know how I did this to you. I hate myself.”

We should hate her, too, but Elena’s guilt was so all-consuming we just felt bad for her — and then she blurted out her indiscretion at Devon’s award ceremony and turned it into the “Brawl of the Year” dinner. Obviously this side trip was concocted to push Devon toward Hilary, I mean Amanda, but Elena’s cheating came so out of left field that I don’t even blame her. Can you plead temporary insanity for a sex romp?

Continue reading your story on the app

Continue reading your story in the magazine

MORE STORIES FROM SOAP OPERA DIGESTView All

Mac In Action

John J. York Celebrates 30 Years On GH.

7 mins read
Soap Opera Digest
February 22, 2021

Young and restless

Young and restless

3 mins read
Soap Opera Digest
February 22, 2021

SOUND OFF

What's on your mind?

4 mins read
Soap Opera Digest
February 22, 2021

Y&R: ADAM AND SHARON BUSTED!

Sharon is experiencing myriad emotions in the wake of her kiss with Adam.

2 mins read
Soap Opera Digest
February 22, 2021

GH PREVIEW: MYSTERY FOR AVA AND NIKOLAS

Nikolas and Ava’s Valentine’s Day date hits a snag in the form of an unwelcome — and ominous — gift.

2 mins read
Soap Opera Digest
February 22, 2021

DAYS: BEN SEARCHES FOR CIARA

Ciara gets ahold of Rhodes’s phone and calls Ben, but they have a bad connection. “Prior to this, he’s had a couple of moments in his heart and his soul that connected to her being alive on a psychic vibe type of thing,” explains Robert Scott Wilson (Ben).

2 mins read
Soap Opera Digest
February 22, 2021

General hospital

General hospital

3 mins read
Soap Opera Digest
February 22, 2021

B&B: LIAM FATHERED STEFFY'S BABY!

The paternity test results reveal that Liam is the father of Steffy’s unborn child, and the truth is met with a host of different feelings.

2 mins read
Soap Opera Digest
February 22, 2021

Days of our lives

Days of our lives

4 mins read
Soap Opera Digest
February 22, 2021

A House Divided, GENERAL HOSPITAL

Some soap secrets are dragged out so long, they lose some of their explosiveness en route to their inevitable reveal. But GH employed the perfect timeline to blow up the truth about Ned and Alexis’s one-night stand — and the on-screen fireworks were dazzling.

3 mins read
Soap Opera Digest
February 22, 2021
RELATED STORIES

Lying as an Art Form

Elena Ferrante’s new novel about adolescence explores the power of fictions.

10 mins read
The Atlantic
September 2020

ALBUM GUIDE - FOR TURTLES FANS

UNDER THEIR FLOEDCO BANNER, VOCALISTS MARK VOLMAN AND HOWARD KAYLAN HAVE OVERSEEN THE VINYL REISSUE OF THE SIX ORIGINAL TURTLES LPS. VOLMAN TOOK THE TIME TO DESCRIBE EACH ALBUM IN DETAIL.

10+ mins read
GOLDMINE
September 2020

PHANTOM OF THE DESERT

THE APACHE KID IS AS ELUSIVE IN DEATH AS HE WAS IN LIFE.

5 mins read
True West
September 2020

Under Review

BOOKS FOR THE GREAT PAUSE

4 mins read
Russian Life
July/August 2020

A Cold Soup to Beet Summer

I was a picky eater in my childhood, and cooked vegetables were especially taboo for me, precluding any enjoyment of my mother’s scrumptious borshch, vegetable ragout, and the like. It must have been a small miracle for her, then, that I did eat her cold svekolnik (свекольник) soup. Perhaps I was seduced by its brilliant red color, or by the floating halves of a hard-boiled egg, or the fact that it was refreshingly cold on a hot summer day.

3 mins read
Russian Life
July/August 2020

Troubles in Quinn Country

In the Irish borderlands, Sean Quinn was always known as a tough businessman. But he was hugely successful and created thousands of jobs. A local hero. And then it all went wrong

10+ mins read
Bloomberg Businessweek
July 06 - 13, 2020

Actress Michelle Stafford On Taking Care of Yourself Inside Out

Michelle Stafford famously portrays Phyllis Summers, a role for which she has won two Emmy awards, on the CBS daytime drama, The Young and the Restless.

4 mins read
Women Fitness
May - June 2020

Older, Wiser, Stronger!

YES, THEY CAN GO TOGETHER. HOW TO TRAIN STRENGTH AS YOU COME ALONG DOWN THE ROAD.

7 mins read
Rock and Ice
June/July 2020

NEXEN TIRE YJ ROCK CRAWLER

The thought of building a YJ rock crawler never crossed my mind - not in a million years. Circumstances change. Four years ago, I was asked by SA Designs to write a book covering Jeep Wrangler JK modifications.

3 mins read
4LOW Offroad Magazine
June/July 2020

the UNIVERSAL HOME

For many old houses, it would be difficult and prohibitively expensive to create accessibility throughout. That doesn’t mean we should ignore the commonsense principles of Universal Design when adding on or renovating—especially when it comes to the entry, kitchen, and bath.

3 mins read
Old House Journal
March - April 2020