It's Only My Opinion
Soap Opera Digest|May 10, 2021
Daytime’s most outspokencolumnist!
Carolyn Hinsey

  • You know what saves a questionable story? Putting A-listers in it.
  • Y&R’s Jack is back to being smart and it’s about time.

Jack: “What’s the truth?”

Sally: “It isn’t pretty.”

Out came Sally’s convoluted scheme to blackmail Kyle and Summer so she could “maintain her new life” in Genoa City, and the sorry tale of all her crimes on B&B.

Jack: “I think we need to go our separate ways.”

Ya think? The Jack we know — who was madly in love with powerhouses Nikki and Phyllis — would never fall for a transparent grifter like Sally. It’s equally shocking that Lauren fell for Sally’s act, but thankfully she also rebounded.

Lauren: “The way you keep your job is by doing it well, not by blackmailing someone. Women have to support other women. Are we clear?”

Summer and Sally: “Crystal.”

As much as that story strained credibility, Sally’s antics created a round-robin of conflict between Jack, Kyle, Summer, Lauren and Phyllis. If they’d written Sally less manipulative and more humorous, it might have worked.

Fellow newbie Ashland Locke is working because they’re using him sparingly to pit Genoa City’s three biggest backstabbers against each other (Victor, Victoria, Billy).

Victor (to Victoria): “You’re playing with the big boys now.”

There’s not a person in that story I don’t care about.

Unlike the Sharon/ Adam/Rey debacle, which made a liar out of Sharon and a moron out of Rey.

Sharon: “I was at the hospital.”

Rey: “No you weren’t.”

Continue reading your story on the app

Continue reading your story in the magazine

MORE STORIES FROM SOAP OPERA DIGESTView All

One Woman Show, GENERAL HOSPITAL

GH’s excellent, Alexisfocused episode was a gift to longtime fans, highlighting the rich history and relationships she’s enjoyed since Nancy Lee Grahn’s 1996 debut while illuminating the buried childhood trauma subconsciously driving the character’s notoriously questionable life choices, romantic and otherwise.

4 mins read
Soap Opera Digest
May 10, 2021

young and restless

BAIT AND SWITCH

3 mins read
Soap Opera Digest
May 10, 2021

Locher Room Talk

Alan Locher’s YouTube show, THE LOCHER ROOM, which reunites fan faves from all across the daytime dial, marked its first anniversary on April 2. Here, Locher reveals how the show came to be — and thrived.

7 mins read
Soap Opera Digest
May 10, 2021

The Mother Load

Her GH Alter Is Faking Her Pregnancy, But In Real Life, Amanda Setton Is A Busy Mom Of Three.

4 mins read
Soap Opera Digest
May 10, 2021

general hospital

HOLE IN ONE

3 mins read
Soap Opera Digest
May 10, 2021

Y&R'S NICK AND ADAM: TRAPPED!

After arriving in Kansas to search for Adam, Nick believes his brother is hiding out somewhere other than Hope’s farm.

2 mins read
Soap Opera Digest
May 10, 2021

Y&R: VICTOR ISSUES A NEW THREAT TO CHELSEA

Meanwhile, back in Genoa City, Chelsea and Chloe return to the penthouse after dining at Society, and they’re caught off-guard by an uninvited guest.

2 mins read
Soap Opera Digest
May 10, 2021

It's Only My Opinion

Daytime’s most outspokencolumnist!

5 mins read
Soap Opera Digest
May 10, 2021

days of our lives

PAYDAY

4 mins read
Soap Opera Digest
May 10, 2021

It's Only My Opinion

Daytime's most outspoken columist!

5 mins read
Soap Opera Digest
May 03, 2021
RELATED STORIES

SUGAR RUSH

Baltimore gets a fresh batch of home-grown bakeries——and the line forms here.

10+ mins read
Baltimore magazine
May 2021

GRAVE CONCERNS FOR BURT'S LADIES

Fears Sally & Loni will square off at memorial service

2 mins read
Globe
April 19, 2021

PIECE OF SPACEX ROCKET DEBRIS LANDS AT WASHINGTON STATE FARM

A piece of burning rocket debris seen streaking across the Pacific Northwest sky last week crashed on a farm in eastern Washington state, authorities said.

1 min read
Techlife News
Techlife News #493

SALLY WAG

Rolled, rebuilt, repainted, ready

3 mins read
Four Wheeler
April 2021

2021: THE LOST YEAR?

As analysts peer into the near future for signs of recovery, the messages coming back are murky

4 mins read
The BOSS Magazine
February 2021

GO WITH THE FLOW

Celebrating an unconventional trout opener among friends.

5 mins read
Traverse, Northern Michigan's Magazine
April 2021

Dolphins defense could use another playmaking linebacker

We understand that the offseason talk has centered on offense, and justifiably so. There are serious voids that must be filled both at running back and receiver. Just put in the tape from last season you’ll see that just about every Sunday.

1 min read
Dolphin Digest
March 2021

What It's Like To Treat Opioid Addiction in Appalachia

Psychiatrist Sally Satel on her eye-opening year at a clinic in Ironton, Ohio.

10+ mins read
Reason magazine
April 2021

1 + 1 + 1 + 1 = ?

“Well, I think going through the four quarterbacks gives us a little insight into some things.” – Ron Rivera

4 mins read
Warpath
February 2021

GOODBYE VOLCANO HIGH

It’s time to play triceratops trumps

3 mins read
PC Gamer US Edition
February 2021