Staying Ahead Of The Curve
Oman Economic Review|April 2018

Mandatory public listing of insurance companies has driven some consolidation in the industry to optimise the number of insurers in the market, whilst maintaining a healthy competitive landscape, says Lloyd East, CEO – Al Ahlia Insurance Co and RSA Middle East. Muhammed Nafie reports

Muhammed Nafie

Al Ahlia Insurance went for an IPO in 2017. How did the listing help the company strengthen its financial, technical and human resources? 

The IPO of Al Ahlia Insurance was the first successful issue of 2017, and one of the successful insurance IPOs of the year. It is a matter of great pride for us and our shareholders that Al Ahlia was the first insurance company to meet the regulatory deadline in accordance with the Royal Decree, for all local insurance companies to become publicly listed entities.

The issuance generated a strong response with considerable oversubscription. This is testimony to the consistent financial and technical performance of the company, which has been driven by a combination of strong local underwriting and distribution capability, working within the framework of RSA Group’s global technical framework.

While the successful IPO validates our strong historic financial performance and reinforces our future plans, the marketing campaign and investor roadshows really raised the awareness of our company and made a positive impact on our corporate image. Equally, it has given our employees real added pride to be associated with a strong and successful company that is now publically listed on the Muscat Securities Market.

At Al Ahlia, we truly believe in the potential of our people, and in our industry, individual expertise is integral to our success. The listing of the company has inspired all of us to continue to develop the business and deliver results that will not just make Al Ahlia proud, be a benchmark in the industry and a source of confidence for our investors and shareholders.

What are the other achievements and milestones for the company in the recent months? Has the economic slowdown affected your performance? 

Continue reading your story on the app

Continue reading your story in the magazine

MORE STORIES FROM OMAN ECONOMIC REVIEWView All

Preventing Heart Disease

Heart disease is a leading killer globally. Beware what to do when chest pain strikes, says Dr V S Yogeeswari, Specialist Cardiologist, NMC Specialty Hospital, Al Ghoubra

2 mins read
Oman Economic Review
April 2018

Positive Outlook

Government spending on infrastructure development projects such as airports and seaports, construction of new hotels and malls as well as the preparations for the upcoming World Expo 2020 and FIFA World Cup 2022 have propelled the growth of air conditioner market in the GCC region

5 mins read
Oman Economic Review
April 2018

Leading Smart Transformation

Information Technology Authority is developing a long-term strategy until 2030 for creating smart cities

5 mins read
Oman Economic Review
April 2018

Robust Growth

Khalid Al Kayed, CEO of Bank Nizwa, talks about the bank’s performance, expansion strategy, future outlook and the Islamic banking industry in Oman

4 mins read
Oman Economic Review
April 2018

Stunning Models

Alfa Romeo celebrates an unprecedented trio of prestigious awards from EVO Middle East magazine

4 mins read
Oman Economic Review
April 2018

Staying Ahead Of The Curve

Mandatory public listing of insurance companies has driven some consolidation in the industry to optimise the number of insurers in the market, whilst maintaining a healthy competitive landscape, says Lloyd East, CEO – Al Ahlia Insurance Co and RSA Middle East. Muhammed Nafie reports

5 mins read
Oman Economic Review
April 2018

Exploring Opportunities

Rebecca Olson, Executive Director at the Oman American Business Center shares details of the recently hosted Renewable Energy Series

3 mins read
Oman Economic Review
April 2018

Connecting Lives

Smart homes zone, AR/VR zone and robot technologies are some of the latest attractions at Comex 2018

2 mins read
Oman Economic Review
April 2018

Building A Healthier Sultanate

With the contribution of an impressive health centre in the Dhofar region, the Al Tasnim Group is enabling enhanced healthcare access in the Sultanate

3 mins read
Oman Economic Review
April 2018

Brace For Sweltering Summers

The Air Conditioning Division of Khimji Ramdas (ACD) has been in relentless service to the people of Oman, providing professional air conditioning solutions.

2 mins read
Oman Economic Review
April 2018
RELATED STORIES

Southern Hospitality

Plant Riverside District redefines Savannah’s riverfront.

3 mins read
Global Traveler
April - May 2021

THE BREAKERS PALM BEACH

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: We arrived at 1 p.m. and were greeted by the valet team, who introduced themselves and took our bags. The front desk team were enthusiastic, and in a short time we were in our beautiful room, where a cold bottle of Champagne and some delicious chocolates greeted us. The bellman supplied some information, and we were ready to sit on the deck and look out at the beach and ocean. The view was expansive and soothing.

1 min read
Global Traveler
April - May 2021

Romance on the River

Take to the water and explore Budapest’s splendor at a leisurely pace.

5 mins read
Global Traveler
April - May 2021

STAR ENTERTAINMENT

MOVIES TV SHOWS BOOKS MUSIC

1 min read
Star
May 03, 2021

RANCHO BERNARDO INN

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: I had been itching for a road trip or staycation for a while and decided to take a few days away from Los Angeles and head down to sunny San Diego and explore downtown and Coronado Island.

2 mins read
Global Traveler
April - May 2021

HUG HEAVEN!

Stand By Me Los Angeles, April 8

1 min read
Star
May 03, 2021

Natural Serenity

Umstead Spa channels the native terrain of North Carolina.

4 mins read
Global Traveler
April - May 2021

COLTON COMES OUT

SAYING HE’S THE “HAPPIEST AND HEALTHIEST” HE’S EVER BEEN, THE FORMER BACHELOR CLARIFIES HIS ORIENTATION.

2 mins read
Star
May 03, 2021

NEMACOLIN

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: Talk about a grand entrance! After driving across the state of Pennsylvania and spending the last 40 minutes of our journey in a snowstorm, Nemacolin’s The Chateau coming into view was a welcome and gorgeous sight.

2 mins read
Global Traveler
April - May 2021

William & Harry: BEHIND CLOSED DOORS

THE ESTRANGED PRINCES ARE FORCED TO RECKON WITH THEIR RIFT AS THE ROYAL FAMILY GATHERS FOR PRINCE PHILIP’S FUNERAL.

3 mins read
Star
May 03, 2021