Karnataka Speaker Disqualifies Three Rebel Congress MLAs
The Hindu|July 26, 2019
Karnataka Speaker Disqualifies Three Rebel Congress MLAs

They stand barred from participating during the term of the current Assembly.

Two days after the Janata Dal (Secular)-Congress government lost the trust vote, Karnataka Assembly Speaker K.R. Ramesh Kumar disqualified three rebel legislators with immediate effect till the end of the 15th Vidhana Sabha.

Speaking at a press conference late on Thursday, Mr. Ramesh Kumar promised to take a decision on the resignation of the 13 other rebel legislators “in the next couple of days”. He added, “I know this matter will go to court.”

The Speaker disqualified Congress legislators Ramesh L. Jarkiholi and Mahesh Kumathalli, representing the Gokak and Athani constituencies in Belagavi district, and KPJP legislator R. Shankar, representing Ranebennur in Haveri district, under the Tenth Schedule of the Constitution.

Mr. Shankar had merged his party with the Congress just last month. The disqualification of the three MLAs, which is open to judicial review, brings down the strength of the Assembly to 222, including the nominated member.


You can read up to 3 premium stories before you subscribe to Magzter GOLD

Log in, if you are already a subscriber


Get unlimited access to thousands of curated premium stories, newspapers and 5,000+ magazines


July 26, 2019