Karnataka Speaker Disqualifies 14 More MLAs Before Trust Vote
The Hindu|July 29, 2019
Karnataka Speaker Disqualifies 14 More MLAs Before Trust Vote

Rebels camping in Maharashtra say they will approach the Supreme Court

Ahead of the trust vote to be moved by Chief Minister B.S. Yediyurappa on Monday, Karnataka Assembly Speaker K.R. Ramesh Kumar disqualified 14 rebel MLAs on Sunday, taking the total number of disqualified MLAs to 17 in the last four days.

Now, the effective strength of the 225-member House stands at 208 — which gives an edge to the BJP (105 + 1 Independent) that has a numerical strength of 106 members.

Abstained from session

At a press conference, Mr. Ramesh Kumar announced the disqualification of 11 Congress rebels and 3 Janata Dal (Secular) legislators — all of whom abstained from the session during which former Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy lost the trust vote — with immediate effect and till the end of the term of the 15th Assembly.


You can read up to 3 premium stories before you subscribe to Magzter GOLD

Log in, if you are already a subscriber


Get unlimited access to thousands of curated premium stories, newspapers and 5,000+ magazines


July 29, 2019