Iguazu Falls

Faces - The Magazine of People, Places and Cultures for Kids|May/June 2020

Iguazu Falls
Iguazu Falls is one of Brazil’s amazing natural wonders. The sixth-largest waterfall in the world, it consists of 275 separate waterfalls. Iguazu Falls was named one of the New Seven Wonders of Nature in 2011.
Gail Skroback Hennessey

Iguazu (ee-gwuh-soo) means “great waters” or “big water” in the Tupi-Guarani language of the indigenous people of the region. The falls were created by volcanic activity. Cooling lava created stone called basalt. Earthquakes later caused cracks (faults) in the basalt, creating the waterfalls where the Iguazu River flows.


You can read up to 3 premium stories before you subscribe to Magzter GOLD

Log in, if you are already a subscriber


Get unlimited access to thousands of curated premium stories and 5,000+ magazines


May/June 2020