Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine - November 2014


Magazine Description
Published since 1941, Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine is America's oldest and most celebrated crime-fiction publication. "The best mystery magazine in the world, bar none," states Stephen King. Featured in its pages are short stories by the world’s leading writers of suspense. The full range of the genre is covered, from the cozy to the hardboiled, the historical to the contemporary—including police procedurals, P.I. stories, psychological suspense, locked-room and impossible-crime tales, classical whodunits, and urban noir. EQMM stories include scores of winners of the Edgar, Agatha, Shamus, Anthony, Derringer, Macavity, Barry, Arthur Ellis, and Robert L. Fish awards. Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine is home to many bestselling authors, including Joyce Carol Oates, Chuck Hogan, Jan Burke, Lawrence Block, and Marcia Muller. Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine features 12 issues (8 single issues and 2 double issues).

Issue Description
No matter who you are or where you are—and in our November issue, you’ll be immersed in a variety of captivating locales—tough decisions can be haunting, and often lead to misdeeds. In a new Hennessey and Yellich tale by Peter Turnbull (“The Mushroom Picker”), we find a body posed in the lotus position in a York forest. . . . Who was this man, where is his family, and how did his past bring him here? Familial ties also tug as we venture to the Prohibition-Era, Little Balkans region of Kansas, where a young protagonist is plunged into the murky underbelly of bootlegging (“Deep Shaft” by Suzanne Arruda). In another story on the theme of family, a Marine Corps veteran and L.A. refugee seeks peace in Death Valley, where his Native American grandfather’s spirit resides, but when the land is threatened, he must decide where his loyalties lie (“Howling at the Moon” by Paul D. Marks). The characters in Art Tayor’s coolly distressing “The Odds Are Against Us” and in Michael Weinreb’s harrowing short-short “The Ocean” struggle with similar questions of loyalty, the former in an oft-frequented bar and the latter at an urban waterfront. Add in a tale from the fashion world involving a clever plan to trap a killer (“The Golden Peacock” by Joan Richter) and a locked-room mystery (“The Lure of the Green Door”) solved by the Ellery Queen-esque detective Norizuki Rintarō, in Passport to Crime, and this issue covers all the bases. Don’t miss it!
Single issue USD 3.99 -
1 Year USD 29.99 38%

* Subscriptions are valid only from current issue.

* Magzter sells only digital copies and not physical print copies, if you want print copies or subscriptions, please contact the publisher, your local magazine vendor or bookstore..

* Price subject to applicable taxes (VAT)

Previous Issue

September/October 2014

September/October 2014
Click to know more

Back Issues

View All